William Dunlop Racing - Dunmanway Race Report

23.08.2010 21:20

William Dunlop on the D&GW Racing Honda clinched the Irish Road Racing Championship at Sundays Dunmanway Road Races in County Cork, with the 25 year old Ballmoney rider now in a strong position to lift the Irish 125 Championship and the Irish Supersport 600 titles with only four points seperating him and Ryan Farquhar in the Supersport class.

William, who opted to use his CD Racing 600 Yamaha in Sundays Superbike races, see's

himself in a strong position to lift a plethroa of titles with the Ballymoney rider now posed to finish his season with at least a double Irish Championship.

 

William Dunlop: "Its been a strange weekend to tell you the truth. I liked the circuit on

Thursday but not on Saturday or Sunday. Its really tight....not a road race circuit when the bales are in place as most of the corners are 1st or 2nd gear to get through them. Thankfully the weather was fine, and I dread to think as to what it would be like to race around here in the wet. Fair play to the club as they could not have done enough for us and the crowd was huge at Sundays race, so hopefully they can continue with this meeting in the future. I had a good day all round and now I am the Irish 250 Road Race Champion. Thanks to D&GW Racing for making this happen for me as without them it would not have been possible. Ryan (Farquhar) won then 125cc Race on his 450....but I lead the Championship from Paul Robinson by 14pts with just Killalane to go, so that should be a good encounter. I am still in with a chance in the Supersport 600 Irish Championships with just four points now between myself and Ryan. In all honesty, that would be the one title that would mean more to me than most. I finished the day of with a fourth place on Chris Dowds 600 in the Grand Final, but I must take my hat of to Derek

Shiels who finished third in this race. Derek is turning into a top road racer and his result here today and at Scarbrough have proved that thios year. Its back home now for a rest efore Killalane, so hopefully all will go well again for me there".

 

Irish Road Race Championships After Dunmanway

 

125cc

William Dunlop 156

Paul Robinson 142

Wayne Kennedy 97

 

250cc

William Dunlop 141 CHAMPION 2010

Barry Davidson 84

Michael Dunlop 76

 

Supersport 600

Ryan Farquhar 110

William Dunlop 106

Michael Dunlop 99

 

Next Round: Final Round Killalane

by Willis Marshall