WILLIAM DUNLOP RACING #6 TANDRAGEE 100 REPORT

08.05.2011 22:25

Saturdays Tandragee 100 Road Races in Co-Armagh, dealt up a double for William Dunlop in the 125 and 250cc races. 

With William not competing on the Wilson Craig Honda's, it was left to the Ballymoney man to campaign on his Delaney 125 Honda, and brother Michaels 250 Honda which William put to good use.   Also in Saturdays races, William was the first 250cc machine home on the Open Senior race finishing 6th on the road in the overall standings.

 

William Dunlop:  "Yeah, I'm pretty please with how Saturday went given the fact that the conditions where so bad at times.   In the 125 Race I went like mad on the first two laps as I could see the rain coming, and Tandragee is not the place that you want to ride on when its wet.  As you know, I don't like racing on wet roads, so I thought if I could open up an early lead, and if the rain did come on, I would have enough in hand to take the win.  In the end, that's what happened.    In the 250 race, it was more or less how we had planned, with Michael's 250 Honda going a dream.  That is two wins from two starts on that wee bike over the roads, so maximum points again for me in that class.   Next up for me is the North West 200, and I guess that will be crunch time for me to try and put on a good show in the Supersport and Superbike races.   At the end of the day, my season is really all around the North West and the TT, so its time to turn up the wick".

 

 

Tandragee 100

250cc Race:

1. William Dunlop  +2    Honda

2. Seamus Elliott           Honda

3. Davy Morgan            Honda

4. Darren Burns            Honda

5. Daley Mathison         Honda

Fastest Lap:  William Dunlop   100.442mph

Irish Championship Standings:      Dunlop = 50    Elliott = 40   Morgan = 32

 

 

125cc Race:

1. William Dunlop  +2    Honda

2. Nigel Moore               Honda

3. Adrian Coleman         Honda

4. Wayne Kennedy        Honda

5. Daley Mathison          Honda

Fastest Lap:  William Dunlop     94.669mph

Irish Championship Standings:  Moore = 45  Dunlop = 41  Coleman = 24 

 

photo by Alan Armstrong