Talk to John Walsh

07.10.2010 20:50

Hi John, I´m not sute you remeber me but in the past we emailed together about your possibility to race in Horce (Czech rep)

Oh yes I remember!

Was talking to some of the lads that went, heard good reports!

Don´t want to try to race here?

We'll see, I think I will concentrate on short circuits next year, although we may do the international road race championship, depends on budget really. I am finished with irish national road racing, had a good time but now its time to move on

 

photo by wusa (UGP 2010)

 

hmm. I understand. This season was realy bad. Is it reason for your decision?

No actually! I had decided at the start of the year that it would be my last. I love it but eventually it will take you. Better to walk away when I still can. It has always been my dream to race in the Uk, so next year i will do the British Thundersport championship. After that I will retire I think, or maybe sponsor a young rider

OK. What do you mean about future of your road racing?

Last several years there (in Czech) is big boom of road racing.

This year we organized RR Championship, there are riders who love that kind of racing.

Its in trouble right now! I am on the race commitee for Faugheen, at the moment the proposal from motorcycling ireland is to limit road racing to 650cc machines. We have a boom in racing too but crowd control is a big problem, also the government is looking for safety to be improved. hopefully the big bikes will stay and the clubs will get better circuits

That´s new for me. Can I understand that on your roads wont be any big bikes next year?

Its a proposal, it has to be voted on next thursday with all the clubs in attendance. It is a possibility though! Sad, however i understand why. Our roadscircuits are very poor, except for Dundrod, kells and walderstown.

Is the proposal for both part of Ireland? South and North?

Just the south, but if it goes ahead here soon the north will have to follow as we use the same insurance company, one accident from a big bike up north and they will ask why they have not followed the south.There are a few court cases coming too up north which may stop racing altogether there.

I would be pity. But I think all your roadracing is very good bussines. There are shops which sell bikes and all importent for riding and racing. And I think if you stop that racing you probably will start race in traffic and it will be more dangerous compare to racing on bumpy and narrow circuits...

Oh I dont know, to road race here you must first start short circuits, race for some years and gain experience then move on. Some of the circuits are too narrow and bumpy for big bikes, either we fit the bikes to the circuit or fixthe circuits for the big bikes. Dundrod is superb, main road, very smooth, fast flowing with run off. we need more circuits like this.

Probably yes. But for me like fan is fantastic to see your skill for example in Skerries. It´s amaizing. I visited UGP twice (last and this year) I love this track but I think it´s too fast. True the road is in fantstic condition but the speed is realy big. It´s dangerous too...

I love skerries, UGP is fast, I havn't watched trackside for many years, could be scary ok! where did you watch from?

Start and finish line, Leathemstown corner, Deer´s Leap, Jordan´s Cross, Quarries ;-)

thats right. Jordans cross is fast! I had a bit of a moment there few years ago, water runs across the road after rain there, i hit it 5th gear, bike went completly sideways, sat on the rev limiter spinning and blew the motor!

 

Thanx for chat

It was nice talking to you