Steve Plater on his decision to quit road racing

26.12.2010 12:20

Eight times North West 200 winner Steve Plater has spoken about how difficult it was to turn his back on road racing.
The Woodhall Spa racer, also twice a winner at the TT races on the Isle of Man, is now concentrating on the World Endurance Championship.
"It was a huge decision to quit the roads. But I wanted to stop while I was still winning," said Plater.


"Having won the last five races I contested at the North West 200, I know I have gone out on a high note."
Plater missed out on adding to his North West tally in 2010 after sustaining neck and arm injuries in a practice session crash.
He spoke fondly of his love affair with the big international road racing event held every may in Northern Ireland.
"I went to the North West as a spectator in 1993 and instantly wanted to be a part of it all," added Plater. "I returned as a competitor. The mass start, elbow to elbow racing, suited my riding style and I really enjoyed it."


Already signed to ride in the Honda TT Legends team, Plater will line up alongside team-mates John McGuinness and Keith Amor in 2011 as they contest the full Endurance Championship held at venues throughout the world and including a round on home tarmac at Donington Park in August.