Michael Pearson #36 Racing

21.07.2011 18:26

Former winner of the Cock 'O' The North Michael Pearson will make his return back to the Oliver's Mount circuit at Scarborough in North Yorkshire this weekend, with the D&GW Racing BMW rider hoping to spark a little bit of life into his season, which by his own standards have been below par to date.    A combination of machine problems and financial restraint has meant that Pearson has had to skip a lot of his pre planned season, and take in only those races that he can afford to do.    Last weekend, Pearson only managed five racing laps at the Kells Road Races in Co-Meath, where he again came away frustrated, but he is a lot more enthusiast about this weekend at a circuit and meeting which he very much enjoys.
 
 
Michael Pearson:  "I am looking forward to getting back to Scarborough to be honest, as I enjoy racing there a lot, which is more than can be said about how I have felt racing in Ireland this year.  Nothing has seemed to go our way this year, where I have had to deal with a severe lack of funding.   Being without a Supersport 600 for the season has been like loosing a leg, but I will hopefully have a 600 this weekend at Scarborough, and if all goes well, for the remainder of the season.   Last weekend at Kells was a disaster, as we had only one race in-between our two Superbike races.  This left no time for us to get tyres changed after the first Open Senior race, so that being the case I had to sit out the Grand Final.   Some of my friends have started up a supporters Club for me called the 36 club, details of which can be found on my website, so with their help and the help from my loyal sponsors, maybe we can rally up some good results before the end of the season.   I am still undecided as to what races I can do after the Scarborough meeting, so I will be taking it one step at a time, but if I can get the backing required, I will be giving it 100% all of the time, but firstly, lets get Scarborough over first".
 
N.B.  The 36 Club will be holding a dance in the Village Inn at Derriaghy near Lisburn on Saturday 13th August after the Ulster Grand Prix.   Admission is £5 at the door and everyone will be made most welcome.
 
 
Picture by Alan Armstrong

Article by Willis Marshall
 
Michael Pearson leads Derek Sheils at Walderstown