Hutchy – well on the road to recovery

05.01.2011 16:41

From RealRoadRacing :

TT hero Ian Hutchinson has yet to announce his 2011 racing plans but the horrific leg injuries he suffered at Silverstone in September are healing well and he’s well on the road to making a full recovery. After 5 wins at the TT, 3 at the Ulster GP and 1 at the North West 200, the 31-year took his 10th International road race win of the season at the Scarborough Gold Cup but, just a week later, he was lying in agony with a compound fracture of his tibia and fibia after being hit by a number of riders in a first corner spill.

Doctors initially feared amputation but 2 operations saw the broken bones successfully fixed and he’s recently had further skin grafts to aid the healing process. The skin grafts did require Hutchy to be in hospital slightly longer than expected but his doctor has declared the results a major success and is delighted with how the leg is healing, much to his own obvious delight.

Speaking to RealRoadRacing.Com, Hutchinson said: “There’s no denying the last couple of months have been pretty tough but the main thing is that everything’s going the right way. The skin grafts all went to plan and the last few weeks have seen the leg come on in leaps and bounds. I went back to see the surgeon last week who fitted the external cage immediately after the operations back in September and he’s extremely happy with how it’s all healing. I’ve been working on hard on doing what exercises I can to aid the rehabilitation process and, like I say, it’s all heading in the right direction.”

“It was a complicated break so it was never going to be a 5-minute job but I’ve been reading all manner of things about my career being over and all sorts! That couldn’t be further from the truth and I can assure everyone it will be all systems go for 2011 once more. The plan for the next couple of months is to do as much fitness work as possible so that once the cage comes off, which should be early in January, I’ll be able to start doing all my usual training regime. It’s a late start to the season (the first British Championship round isn’t until late April) so I have no doubt that I’ll be able to take part in a full schedule of pre-season testing just like everyone else.”

photo by wusa (UGP 2010)

With all his attention focused on his recovery, Hutchinson’s plans for 2011 have taken a back seat somewhat and whilst the majority of his rivals have already secured their deals, he’s yet to finalise his although it’s not a situation he’s unduly worried about at this stage.

“It’s true that I haven’t finalised anything yet but there are plenty of options out there still and it’s not something I’m stressing about even if other people are! I’ve said all along that I wasn’t going to rush in to anything and what I do in 2011 is all about doing what’s right for my career. If that means I sign for someone in January or February rather than November then so be it.”

“Like I say, there are plenty of options still available and it’s almost as if there are more teams than riders at the moment so all I’m concentrating on at present is getting back to 100% fitness. I’m getting closer to that all the time and I’m confident that I’ll be riding for a team in 2011 that will allow me to carry on from where I left off in 2010. Finally, I’d like to thank the whole Padgetts family for supporting me through my injuries and staying with the team for next season would be a good option for me.”