Another successful weekend for Michael Pearson

02.08.2011 20:12

D&GW Racing rider Michael Pearson, completed his most successful Irish Road Race of the season to date on Saturday, when he produced a trio of top four results at the Armoy Road Races in Co-Antrim.
Having just returned form another successful trip at Oliver's Mount the week previous, Pearson was in superb form as he battled it out with Michael Dunlop, Ryan Farquhar, and William Dunlop in the Superbike and Supersport 600 races, with Pearson's perseverance giving the BMW rider a fine third place finish in the Open Senior Championship race behind race winner Michael Dunlop and runner up Ryan Farquhar.
Earlier in the day, Pearson on the D&GW Racing/Carryduff Forklifts R6 Yamaha, took fourth place after he was just piped for third spot by Relentless Suzuki rider Guy Martin.   To round of a great days racing, Michael then took second place behind Michael Dunlop in the Race of Legends Race in which William Dunlop took third place.
 
 
Michael Pearson: "That was a great weekends racing.....really enjoyed every minute of it.   The D&GW Racing BMW Superstock bike is really flying and although we had a wee problem with an oil seal at one stage, she never really missed a beat.   It was a hard race in the Open with Michael Dunlop, Ryan Farquhar and myself giving the huge crowd plenty to smile about.  I lead the race for a while and I think that only 0.3 seconds split the lot of us.  I out braked myself going into Robbos Corner on the last lap and lost out to Ryan for second place, but I was still very happy knowing that I could run with the lads up front.
The Supersport 600 race was another battle again between Ryan and me for most of the way, but Guy Martin got me nearing the end of the race to snatch third place from me, but that is just the way it goes.  The R6 is still down on power and we hope to get that sorted before the Ulster Grand Prix.   Then is was the Race of Legends Grand Final race which again, I got a good start and was able to keep up with Michael Dunlop at the front.  He stuck in a couple of good laps to get a break from me and I had to settle for second place in front of William Dunlop on the Wilson Craig Honda, so I was really well chuffed with that result.   I will not be doing this weekends Mid Antrim Races, as we have just to much to get ready for the Ulster Grand Prix which is the big race of my season.  I want to have everything running right from the start, so I am not going to the Mid Antrim to jeopardise anything happening".
 
Armoy "Race of Legends" Results.
 
Supersport 600 Race:
1st = Michael Dunlop        Street Sweep Yamaha
2nd = Ryan Farquhar        KMR Kawasaki
3rd = Guy Martin             Relentless Suzuki
4th = Michael Pearson       D&GW acing/Carryduff Forklifts Yamaha
5th = Derek Shiels            Honda
 
Open Senior Race:
1st = Michael Dunlop        Street Sweep Kawasaki
2nd = Ryan Farquhar        KMR Kawasaki
3rd = Michael Pearson       D&GW Racing BMW
4th = Guy Martin             Relentless Suzuki
5th = William Dunlop        Wilson Craig Honda
 
Race of Legends:
1st = Michael Dunlop        Street Sweep Kawasaki
2nd = Michael Pearson      D&GW Racing BMW
3rd = William Dunlop        Wilson Craig Honda
4th = Adrian Archibald       AMA BMW
5th = Stever Mercer          Yamaha
 
 
Picture By Alan Armstrong:
Michael Pearson leads Ryan Farquhar in the Supersport 600 Race.