William Dunlop - Race of Legends

02.08.2011 20:08

Ballymoney rider William Dunlop suffered a disappointing day by his own standards in last weekends Armoy Road Races, with William taking the podium on two occasions from five race starts, after the 25 year old was plagued with machine problems all weekend.
A problem with his MD 250 Honda in Friday evening practice, meant that William would have to start Saturdays race from the back of the grid, not entirely an ideal solution on the Ballymoney mans home track.    A blown motor on his Wilson Craig Supersport 600 worsened Dunlop's woes with race day seeing Dunlop finish in fourth place in the Open Race, and third in the Race of Legends Race.   Continuing problems in the 250cc race saw William finish in a rare fifth place, but his finest moment came in the 125cc race when he took the John Deleany 125 Honda to yet another Irish Road Race win.
 
William Dunlop: " Things just did not go my way at Armoy, but I suppose it could have been a lot worse.  We had a few problems with the 250 and 600 over the weekend which hampered my days racing, but I suppose it was better to happen last weekend than at the Ulster Grand Prix.   I was hoping to do well on what is my local race, and yet again there were huge crowds around the circuit which is good for the club and the locals.   My 125 Honda is going really well, but as you know this year will be the last time that I will probably ride the two strokes as I need to work on the bigger bikes more.  I might build a couple of 125's next year and give then to some young riders who are racing with little or no support.....time will tell.    I will not be doing this weekends Mid Antrim, and it has been well documented already as to why I will be giving it a miss.  The next big one for me is the Ulster Grand Prix Bike week where I will be giving it all I have to try and get results in the Superbike and Supersport races.  I will be using the smaller bikes also at the Prix and the Dundrod 150 races, so it will be a very busy week for us all".

 
Picture Alan Armstrong
William Dunlop heads to victory in the 125cc Race at Armoy.