William Dunlop at Kells

19.07.2011 20:38

Wilson Craig Honda rider William Dunlop will continue his whirlwind Racing exploits this weekend when the 25 year old Ballymoney rider will travel to Co-Limerick for the Annual Athea Road Races.
After a 10 day period which seen Dunlop takes wins at the Walderstown, Southern 100 and Kells Road Races, its again back to business at Athea where Dunlop will again face stiff opposition from his younger brother Michael Dunlop, with the Dunlop brothers topping the Athea Road Race bill.
A couple of near miss's encountered at Walderstown and the Southern 100 has not dampened Dunlop spirits, with William arguably encountering his finest season in Irish and International Road Racing, and he expects that trend to continue this weekend at Athea.
 
 
William Dunlop:  "Its been a very busy couple of weeks with Walderstown, the Southern 100 and Kells, and there is no let up again this weekend as I will again be out at Athea.   I had been offered to go and ride at Scarborough this weekend, but the Athea Club have always looked after me well when I have been there and I think I owe it to them to return again this year.    I had good results in the Walderstown Races on the two strokes, and on Wilson bikes, but I was rather shaken up with the accident at the start of the 250cc race.  I continued that form at the Southern 100 where again I was successful in the 250cc races and in the 125 races, but it was rather pleasing to set a new lap record in the Supersport 600 race where I finished second to Michael.   I had a minor prang, it was a bit embarrinsing to be honest, at the Southern 100 when I slipped off about 10mph at Ballabeg corner. Then to cap it all off I took what i can only described as my best road race win in the 600 race at Kells. It was really ding dong all the way between Michael and myself.  Wins in the 125 and 250cc races at Kells gave me a treble which was nice and I think the man of the meeting award.  Hopefully I can carry that winning run going this weekend at Athea, where I have know doubt that brother Michael will give me another run for my money".
 
 
Picture by Alan Armstrong

Article by Willis Marshall
 
 
William Dunlop on the Wilson Craig Honda Superbike.