MICHAEL DUNLOP AND HIS PLANS FOR 2009

02.01.2009 19:37

Michael Dunlop the 20-year-old road racing star who won fame by breaking down in tears after he had won the 250 cc race at the NW 200 has a main aim in 2009 and that is to win two TT races.

Michael has signed up to ride for the Norton Team in the Superbike classes and he will also compete in the Nw 200 and the Ulster Grand Prix.

"I am concentrating on winning the 600 cc class on a Crossen Yamaha at the TT,” he said. “That is my main goal as we enter 2009. I feel at the moment that I will be one of the favourites, considering that last time I was sixth and 10th in the two 600 races and that was after having only had a days practice. As you know I left it until the last minute to compete at the TT but I will not be like that in 2009 I feel very confident and I am delighted with the factory superbikes which I have received from Norton. You know it is a strange thing but my Dad rode the big bikes for Norton in his hay day and hopefully I am going to do the same"

Dunlop is mindful of the fact that he lapped last year in the 600 class at a 122 mph and 124 mph in the superbike.

The youngest Dunlop's appearance will be interesting to many for he showed that dedication and skill which is required at top level when he collected that race at the NW in May, two days after his fathers death.

Barry Symmons who was manager at the time of Robert Dunlop’s Norton venture told me"Michael has a great future. I can see him going right to the top, especially as far as road racing is concerned. He appears to have a lot going for him"