Daley Mathison Racing #104 TANDRAGEE 100 RACE PEPORT

08.05.2011 22:23

Fast improving Road Racer, Daley Mathison continued his good form at the Around a Pound Tandragee 100 Road Races with the 18 year old taking a solid fifth place finish in the 250cc race, and a top fifteen place in the Open Superbike Class, with Mathison never having seen the Co-Armagh circuit until last weekend.

Mathison's debut visit was however deflated when he had to retire his D&GW Racing 125 Honda after he picked up a first lap puncture, ruling the dejected Mathinson out of the race.

 

Daley Mathinson:  "I really enjoyed my first visit to Tandragee.....it really is everything that you could get at a road race.  Its ultra fast, sweeping bends, and great jumps, which I enjoyed.

It was a bit disappointing not being able to get a race on the 125 Honda, but picking up a puncture on the first lap is better than to have been running up front and picking it up.  I was gutted as I did not score any Championship points, and I think that leaves me on 20 pts from Cookstown and way down in 6th place.   Everything went well with the 250 D&GW Honda, but I just wanted to try and learn the place, so to take fifth and lap at over 94mph, was for me, very pleasing.     I had my second run out on the D&GW Racing Superstock Suzuki, the one that William Dunlop rode in 2010.  This is all new stuff for me and the big bikes are a real handful over the Tandragee jumps, so to finish in 15th place and with a lot of seasoned riders behind me, was the icing on the cake of what I would call, a very successful learning weekend".

 

photo by Alan Armstrong