ANOTHER ROAD RACING FAMILY IN ARMOY

19.07.2012 21:28

Two cousins who recently took up road racing will be looking to improve on their previous year’s record at the Armoy Road Races on the 27th and 28th July 2012.

The two local riders, Tommy Henry and Ian Simpson, both from Armoy, have been racing on the roads for just a few years but are loving every minute of their long life passion – motorbikes!

Tommy, no stranger to bikes, having had his first bike at the age of eight, a 50cc and now at the age of 40 after six years racing on the circuits, he has turned his attention to road racing.

Tommy Henry said, “It may well be true that road racing is in your blood, I had my first bike at the age of eight and I often accompanied my Uncle Sammy Henry to road races when I was a youngster.

“After a few years on the circuits I decided to road race. My first road race was at Armoy on a 250 GP bike.  In hindsight that might have been foolish, it’s my local course and I probably put too much pressure on myself as I was in front of a local crowd. I managed a very credible 142mph through the speed trap – so I did alright.”

Tommy Henry’s second cousin is Ian Simpson, aged 39, like Tommy he has taken to road racing over the last few years. He has raced at Armoy every year, since its inception, in his 600 Yamaha and enjoyed every minute.

“I was always one for watching the road racing, living in the village there is no getting away from it. As I had been racing on the circuits people kept saying why don’t you try the road racing – so I did!” explained Ian.

Ian believes it takes time to get used to a course but it is a different feeling during the actual road race.

Ian continued, “Adrian Archibald said that you need three years on a circuit to be able to ride to your potential and I agree with that. It takes time to get used to a course at that speed but one thing is for sure – I’ve no more excuses at Armoy this year!”

Like many road racers financing this expensive hobby can be difficult. Tommy runs his own business as a kitchen maker and fitter at Parkview Kitchens. Ian is an insulation engineer.

“We both have local sponsors. Scenic Inn, Drones Stones and Hugh O’Kane Motors Armoy all sponsor me but it is a really pricey pastime. We spend most of our time together sorting out our bikes and getting different parts for them but the money is not long of running out,” explains Tommy.

“Orra Construction and Kathrina’s Salon are both my sponsors but life in road racing can be difficult  - we can’t make every road race. It is just too costly,” said Ian.

When asked why they do it when money is tight and it’s a dangerous sport.

“It’s not a logical thing to do, I realise that”, said Tommy and Ian adds, “I sometimes think why would you put yourself through that.”

But it is obvious as they talk about road racing it is one of their true passions.

Tommy concludes, ”There is no feeling quite like it at Armoy – the high speed, the bumps and the jumps!”

“And if you are not scared then there is something bloody wrong with you – but we are never going to change!” as Ian finishes his sentence.

Tommy Henry won the 250 GP at Mid Antrim 150 last month.