What was Frohburg for Peter Heijmans?

10.10.2010 17:02

The weekend of 25/26 September meant that round 5 of the IRRC was held. This being the last weekend on the calendar the championship results would be decided. Peter was in 19th place after 4 rounds but a point’s difference of 7 points to the 15th spot meant that things were close.

Saturday meant practice as usual, and because also the open SBK race was entered 2 extra practice runs.

In the morning it started raining just when our first practice was run. The rain would continue the whole weekend and never stop. All in all 42,5 liters/m2 had fallen in 36 hours! So to sum up the 2010 edition of the “Triangle races” in Frohburg > WET.

Luckily I tend to have a smooth riding style so I was like a fish in the water as a Dutch saying goes.

With an 18th time out of 37 riders this meant a 5th row start in the IRRC. In the open SBK a 23th time out of 38 riders was set.

Sunday morning and the 1st heat of the IRRC beckoned. Like I said earlier it still rained and after a good start without incidents everyone was away. I made a decent start and became mixed in a group of 4 riders. Which I didn’t know since I rode mostly in the second or third spot. So I planned to overtake both of them in the last lap. Randy Brandt who was at the back had the same plan and came by me in the 2nd corner in the last lap. This left me at a small distance and so my plans fell in the water. I ended up in 16th place so not bad, some valuable championship points!

photo by wusa (UGP 2010)

 

In the afternoon the 2nd heat was scheduled. Again I made a good start en in a few laps I gained a few places and started a race on my own. I tried to get closer towards Michael Hofman who was close in front of me. Sadly this didn’t work and at the finish line the difference was 4 sec. The conditions were very tricky the whole weekend and aquaplaning in combination with steamed up visors are not what you want.

As a result Peter now finished 15th in the Championship, in which a total of 43 riders gained points. Peter commented; “Since this was my second year racing again, and some well known riders stepped in this championship a decent result. I had to adept to the Kawasaki 1000 but made a steady progress during the year. Next year we will try to break into the Top 15 but there is more interest from professional teams so we have to see what happens.”

Preparations for the 2011 season are already underway. The Kawasaki will be stripped, cleaned and checked. With some new paint and maybe some improvements if we get the budget, it will be ready for another season.

Riding the International Road Racing Championship is planned because it is getting more and more interest. I will also make my debut in Horice (Czech Republic) and plan to race some more Irish races before the UGP.

So a new and exciting season beckons, were some new support is very welcome. If you are interested please feel free to contact me via twintriple@gmail.com and we can see what the possibilities are.

 

Peter Heijmans #75.