Thundersport GB Championships Round Two Donington Park

14.04.2014 22:13

NEI Motorsports riders Michael Pearson and Nico MaWhinney, rose to the occasion at the weekend when both riders took podium positions in their respective class's in round two of the British Thundersport Championship races at Donington Park.
Lisburns Michael Pearson who was riding in The Bike Insurer Thundersport GP1 class, scored and excellent fourth place finish in the Superbike class, and then went one better in race three, when the Northern Escalator Installations Kawasaki rider took a fine third place finish in only his first short circuit event since 2000.
Castledawson rider Nico MaWhinney who was competing in the The Van Insurer 600 Elite class, scored two podium place finishes in races two and three with Nico taking a hard fought third place in both races on the Northern Escalator Installations Kawasaki ZX6R.
 
Michael Pearson"The weekend was fantastic from start to finish even with a few little gremlins in race one when I had to retire at the end of lap four due to a gear linkage problem on the bike.  We had a real good race in races two and three with the NEI Motorsports Kawasaki working really well.   To get fourth place in race two was beyond my wildest dream as I started from the middle of row five in a grid of forty riders.   Then to go one better in race three with a third place finish really crowned of the whole weekend for us all.  It was a fantastic feeling.  We did encounter a little quick shifter issue with the bike during the race, and I am sure that I could have taken second place in that race, only for that issue, but to get third was unexpected.   I must say that I am now really looking forward to Snetteron on the May day weekend, and Donington has given me that injection of confidence that I needed".
 
Nico MaWhinney:   "It really could not have went any better.  We had a little coming together in race one with another rider which was out of my control, but that's racing.   In race two my luck changed and I was able to hang onto a fine third place and I can tell you I was over the moon with that result.   To repeat that same third place finish in race three was the cherry on the cake.  It feels really good to be involved with such a professional team and I cant thank everyone enough for what was truly a brilliant weekend".
 
N.B.  Everyone involved with NEI Motorsports wish to sent their condolences to the family of the late Ian Allkins who suffered fatal injuries during the Thundersport GB races at Donington Park.
 
Next Round (3)
3-4-5- May Snetterton
 
end.........................