ROB McELNEA - NORTH WEST 200

02.01.2009 19:38

"I can't wait for the NW 200. Perhaps I will have better luck this time".

The speaker was legendary former road racing star Rob McElnea whose team is being aimed at the North West with Michael Rutter the very capable pilot.

McElnea said: "The bike will be a Yamaha in the colours of the NW 200 and the plan is to compete in the British Superbike Championship. And I believe Michael can win it. I still remember the days when I was competing in the World Formula One Championship on roads. Joey Dunlop was the champion in those days and I was just about the main opposition to him. Joey began the year 1983 by winning the opening round at the Isle of Man TT. Then I hit back by winning at Assen in Holland. It was all or nothing when the final round took place at the Ulster Grand Prix. Joey won the Championship but I must say he was a superb Dundrod rider. I also liked the course but I preferred the NW. There was always a great buzz about the place and of course that man Dunlop was everywhere. I had the chance to beat him twice at one years NW and each time I was in the lead but unfortunately threw it all away - twice on the last lap. I feel with retrospect that I should have won at least one of those races. But now perhaps as the owner of a team I will have my revenge when Michael Rutter goes into action this time around.