Peter Heijmans - UGP experiences

04.09.2010 18:18

Dear reader,

August has ended so time for another racing report from me. After a few pleasant relaxing days in Ireland we arrived at the Dundrod circuit. We were placed at the top of the paddock and Noel and his team made us welcome.

Tuesday was the first practice day and as a newcomer a busy one also. You had the newcomers briefing and coach tour around the circuit. Also scruteneering of the bike/helmet/leathers and the regular riders meeting. Luckily I had the support and help of Keith Stewart so with his knowledge everything went smooth and relaxed during the whole week.

So at 3 pm with some delay we made the first laps around the Dundrod circuit behind the Marshalls, with the orange bib. Whatever comparison I had tried to make before, thought the old Spa-Francorchamps circuit would be a bit comparable, was proven wrong. What a mind-blowing track it is! A flying kilo that like the name says really is a km long full throttle in 6th gear. Just after deers leap were the surface literally falls from under your bike. And the front lifts itself skywards.. Without a doubt one of the best experiences in my life.

During both the afternoon practice sessions my times improved and steadily I learned the course. I could learn some lines from other riders, and sometimes I was reminded by my status as a newcomer. I recall Guy Martin passing me on the outside of Loughers so fast. But like Noel told us at the newcomers meeting I kept it safe and wanted to enjoy the experience this year. The last practice was early evening 8:30 pm which was new for me also. So with a low sun and less daylight I could see the flames coming out of Gary Johnson’s Suzuki for more than a km away. Some surrealistic riding in a way, and totally incomparable to other race meetings. Because I could follow a faster rider I got carried away and in doing so tried to overtake a slower rider on the outside of the hairpin. A silly mistake since 1 sec. Later I was sliding along the road. The camber of the road is much steeper there then the inside line so my front wheel lost grip. And as a result I fell down. I had an evening of work to do, the bike was cleaned and the fairing repaired with the good old duck tape. Clip-on and footrest were bent back and the bolts tightened again. Sadly a bolt had snapped out of the engine and so there was a little hole from which oil leaked. Once again the Road Racing camp showed it’s great camaraderie and Dave Hewson had a spare engine, from which I could buy the necessary engine casing. At midnight I could go to bed and the Kawa was fixed again.

Early next morning it was of again towards scruteneering and the bike passed again. During the first practice I was riding the same lap times again and so I qualified myself for both the SST and SBK races at the UGP. At the end of the day around 6 pm I could take up my place on row 17 of the start grid for the Dundrod 150 SBK race. So my first race at the Dundrod circuit beckoned and with the 3rd wave of riders I made a good start. I found my place in a group of riders and had a good fight which resulted in a 29th place. Again my lap times went downwards.

Friday was a day of racing and so we had some quality time with the family, without whom I could never enjoy my racing passion.

Saturday morning welcomed us with sunshine and lots of spectators, on my warm up lap I could see face everywhere in hedges and behind fences. Luckily for me there was no pressure at all, and I was to enjoy my first UGP. The first race was the Superstock and again I had a good scrap with some other competitors. The race was red flagged and so I ended up in 30th place.

After the race the pair of trusty Maxxis threaded tyres on which I had ridden all the time were removed, and a pair of slick tyres fitted instead. So full of confidence with new tyres I started the first SBK race. I finished 29th and in the second race moved up 1 place to end up in 28th. With my best lap time in the last race, an average 117,5 mph I was fully satisfied. All my goals were achieved, I enjoyed the UGP experience and every time that I rode I improved my lap times. So next year I will for sure try to be back at the UGP. Finally, I thank Keith for his help and support, and Noel for the splendid organization!

All the best Peter Heijmans # 75

photo by wusa (UGP2010)