Newcomers at Horice

10.05.2010 19:58

I have asked some from newcomers what they think about Horice road races. There are their answers :

 

I´m sure you have seen some onborads from Horice. What is your meaning about the track?

Corran Smyth : I think Horice looks like a very exciting track. Maybe it will take me some time to learn it.

Tuukka Korhonen : It looks scary and very difficult to learn with all those elevation changes and changing radius corners. But very much fun at the same time.

Michael Paerson : I think it is awesome...Really looking forward to racing around it.

Brian Smith : Plenty of corners to learn, a bit of everything, looks very demanding physically, not good when you are 46.

Wayne Hamilton : From what i ahve seen from the onboards it looks a fun track to ride and also quite smooth compared to are twisty little irish tracks so al in all im looking forward to geting my first proper look at the track

 

Have you watched DVD or movies on youtube from Horice races from last year? If yes, what do you think about atmosphere round the racing circuit?  

Corran Smyth : I can tell by looking at the videos from Horice that Czech fans love their racing.

Tuukka Korhonen : Of course you have to be there to feel the atmosphere but you can easily see that there are a lot of people out there and that already makes it special. And it does look like they are there for the weekend of fun and not just to see the race and quickly go home. It looks like some town festival more like. I am really looking forward to it.

Michael Paerson : Well, it seems like everyone really enjoys their racing in Horice and I think my Team will fit in quite nicely with the people and the races.

Brian Smith : Only seen Horice on YouTube, party atmosphere, very good. 

 

Do you know any czech riders who will race in your class?

Corran Smyth : Maybe Indi?

Tuukka Korhonen : I have only raced against Pavel Navratil in Frohburg last year and I was quicker in practice but he ended up crossing the line four seconds ahead of me in the race. I guess I have to put that that right this year! 

Michael Paerson : Yes, Michal Dokoupil will race along side me, and I have raced with Michal alot over here in Ireland before.  He's a very good rider whom I expect to be the main man at Horice.  Of course, Michal, rides for the AIR Kawasaki Team which translated means Anglo Irish Racing,  so Michal has abit of Irish with him also.

Brian Smith : No, none, Iam sure this will change during the weekend.

Wayne Hamilton : indi and thats only because he races in ireland

 

Horice track is very different if I compare it to your road. What are you ambitions?

Corran Smyth : I just want to have fun at the race any result is a good one.

Tuukka Korhonen : I have not set myself any targets. I just want to learn the track and see how I can handle it but of course I hope to do well. After the first practice I should be a lot wiser about what I am capable of. 

Michael Paerson : To be honest, I race to win everywhere, or at least get as high up the leader board as possible.  We won't be going to Horice for a weekend away, we are coming over to do our job...and hopefully that is to win races.  I want to put a good show on for the many Czech people who attend Horice, so yes, its all systems go.

Brian Smith : To have fun and finish then come back in 2011 and win ( ha ha )

Wayne Hamilton : yes it is very different to are irish circuit a lot more flowing, my ambition will be top three in every class i am entered in the bikes are capable so its all just down to me.

 

Do you want to send word to czech roadracing fans?

Corran Smyth :  Yes. Feel free to buy me beer after the race :-)

Tuukka Korhonen : Czech racing fans are lucky to have this kind of oldskool real road race and I hope you all come to make it a big event again. I will try my best to give you all something to cheer about! :)

Michael Paerson : Yes..... I really am looking forward to meeting all the Czech Road Racing fans, and please come over and have a chat with myself and the Team.  You are passionate about your road racing so I think that it is only fair that we come to your races in the hope that many more people from Ireland and the United Kingdom will one day come to Horice and race.   Road Racing fans are a breed apart, and just like us Irish, your love for the sport is vast and hopefully you can all play apart in supporting the organisers of the Horice races, help them to maintain this great race meeting, and secure road racing in the Czech Republic for many years to come.  I had never heard of Horice two years ago, so you can already see that you are moving in the right diection in getting the meeting some publicity, and hopefully we can, and will, endorse the Horice Road Races for many years to come.

Brian Smith : Have a great time and please come and say hello, we are all very much looking forward to meeting the Czech people. 

Wayne Hamilton : yea make sure the volcanic ash isnt around your part of the world next week so we can all get out ther