MICHAEL PEARSON RACING - Ian Watson Spring Cup Scarborough

21.04.2010 14:50

Two was the magic number for Ballygowans Michael Pearson at the weekend when the Carryduff Forklifts/Morrell Racing Kawasaki rider scored four runner-up positions in the Ian Watson Spring Cup at Olivers Mount Scarborough.

Riding the Carryduff Forklifts Kawasaki Supersport 600 machine, and the Morrell Racing Kawasaki Superstock machine, Pearson had to be content with second best to fellow countryman Ryan Farquhar (KMR Kawasaki) who dominated the event with eight straight race wins.

Pearson however, was more than pleased with the weekends work, and now heads to Co-Tyrone for the Opening Irish Road Race of the season, the Cookstown 100.

  

photography by Alan Armstrong

 

Michael Pearson:  "Scarborough went really well, and it is a circuit that I love riding on, but this time around I had to take my hat off to Ryan Farquhar who was simply outstanding on the day.  I got close to him on a couple of occassions and I would say our bikes are pretty much on an even keel as far as power goes.    I had a little minor problem with the Superstock machine which I beleive could have cost me at least one race win which would have made the Ian Watson Spring Cup result very interesting, but not one to grumble, I still enjoyed the whole weekend.    Its off to Cookstown this weekend for the Cookstown 100.  I have only ridden at it once and that was last year when I finished in 9th place in the Open Race and 6th in the Cookstown 100 race.  I took the Supersport 600 Race B win from Davy Morgan last year so this time around I want to be in Race A.   If I can better my results from last year, I will take that as a sucess".

 

Willis Marshall:    (Manager) "Unfortunatly I missed the Ian Watson Spring Cup meeting at the weekend as I was else where in the mainland, but from all accounts, Michael again rode with all the style and excitment that has made him an interesting rider. It was another great weekend for Kawasaki with Kawasaki taking the 1-2 in both the Supersport 600 races, and both legs of the Ian Watson Spring Cup.   This weekend at Cookstown will for me be the real opening road race of the year, and I am looking forward to seeing Michael dice with the top lads this time around....something we all know he is capable of.  

Can I also on behalf of everyone involved with Michael Pearson Racing, extend our heart felt sorry to the Morrell family and espicially our Superstock Sponsor Ivan Morrell on the recent passing of his mother at the weekend".